HBO’s Upcoming TV Series “House of the Dragon” – What We Know So Far

Events of the prequel take place when the Targaryens landed on Dragonstone four centuries before the “Game of Thrones” events.

There is a full list of characters that we will see in the upcoming tv series and confirmed cast members that will join the “House of the Dragon”. 

Full character list:

  1. King Viserys I (103–129 AC)
  2. Alicent Hightower
  3. Daemon Targaryen
  4. Rhaenyra
  5. Ser Laenor Velaryon
  6. Rhaenys Targaryen and Lord Corlys Velaryon
  7. Harwin Strong (aka “Breakbones”)
  8. Princes Jacaerys “Jace,” Lucerys “Luke,” and Joffrey “Joff” Velaryon
  9. King Aegon II (129–131 AC)
  10. Helaena
  11. Twins Jaehaera and Jaehaerys and their younger brother Maelor
  12. Blood and Cheese
  13. Mysaria
  14. Aegon III (131–157 AC)
  15. Mushroom
  16. Dragonseeds
  17. Prince Qoren Martell

There are eight confirmed cast members for the House of the Dragon” – actress Eve Best as Princess Rhaenys Velaryon, actor Paddy Considine as Viserys Targaryen, Olivia Cooke will play Alicent Hightower, Emma D’Arcy we will see as Rhaenyra Targaryen, actor Rhys Ifans will be Otto Hightower, actress Sonoya Mizuno will play Mysaria, Matt Smith we will see as Daemon Targaryen, and actor Steve Toussaint will play Lord Corlys Velaryon.

“House of the Dragon” will take place in King’s Landing and Dragonstone, but we will see other well-known places, such as Riverlands, Harrenhal, and The God’s Eye.

HBO has confirmed 10 episodes of the “House of the Dragon” and the first series will be released sometime in the year 2022. Miguel Sapochnik and Ryan Condal will serve as co-showrunners along with George R. R. Martin and Vince Gerardis. “House of the Dragon” shooting location will be in England at Leavesden Studios in Watford.

Stay tuned for more info about the upcoming “Game of Thrones” prequel news